Big 12 Admits Illegal Snap Was Wrong Call, This Does Not Make It Any Better

Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt said today that the Big 12 refs on Saturday made the wrong call on the illegal snap, which was not an illegal snap, but actually a fumble and should have been Texas Tech’s ball:

“It is important to state that we have been in constant communication with the Big 12 Conference office from the immediate end of the game and throughout Sunday regarding the Illegal Snap call in the first overtime.

“It has been confirmed that the ruling on the field of an Illegal Snap was incorrect. The play is not reviewable by rule because it is a dead ball judgement call by the official. I am confident that the Big 12 Conference will deal with the matter internally as they complete the review of the game in its entirety.

“While this is a very unfortunate circumstance, I could not be more proud of our team and the competitive fight and effort with which they competed.”

I am still in a state of ennui, maybe we get back on the saddle tomorrow.


The Latest

To Top