Texas Tech Football Notebook: Cody Campbell’s $25 Million Gift Announced

It’s a lot of money.

Can there be a day where there is no Texas Tech news? I very much doubt it.

Yesterday, Texas Tech announced a $25 million gift by Cody Campbell, Board of Regent and former Texas Tech footballer, to completely renovate the south end zone. They are apparently still in the planning state. Additionally, Jones AT&T Stadium will now be known as Jones AT&T Stadium with teams playing at Cody Campbell Field.

This ups the previous record for the biggest donation in program history by $5 million, Dusty Womble giving the previous record of $20 million.

Here is head coach Joey McGuire:

“Texas Tech is so special because of its people and the investment our supporters have for this program,” head football coach Joey McGuire said. “On behalf of our entire football program, I’d like to thank Regent Campbell and his family for their generous contribution to the south end zone project as well as the Womble family for their previous gift for our new football complex. Between the south end zone project and the Womble Football Center, Texas Tech is destined to be the place to be for this state’s top recruits who want to play at a high level and have first-class facilities.”

Well, this is obviously significant and you don’t need me to type it. There will not be a nicer set of facilities in the country and that is a fact.

During the press conference, or really afterwards, head coach Joey McGuire was asked about his staff and he said that he expects Monday or Tuesday the offensive staff is going to be finished, while he’ll know more about the defense on Sunday.

The Big 12 announced post season honors and the football team had Jonathan Garibay make the first team All-Big 12 and 5 players make second team All-Big 12: Dawson Deaton: Erik Ezukanma; DaMarcus Fields; Austin McNamara; and Colin Schooler. There were a handful of honorable mentions as well:

Additional accolades included honorable mention nods for senior offensive linemen Josh Burger and T.J. Storment, senior tight end Travis Koontz, junior defensive tackle Jaylon Hutchings and junior defensive end Tyree Wilson, senior linebacker Riko Jeffers and junior defensive backs Dadrion Taylor-Demerson, Reggie Pearson Jr. and Rayshad Williams. Also earning honorable mentions distinctions were Deaton for Offensive Lineman of the Year, Garibay for Special Teams Player of the Year, Kaylon Geiger Sr. for Offensive Newcomer of the Year and Williams for Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

A couple of things that are not football related, but they are big deals. First, the volleyball team will be playing in the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2001 today at 4:30 p.m. broadcast on ESPN+.

And Texas Tech has another All-American soccer player in Kirsten Davis. Huge honor and congrats to her.


The Latest

To Top