Tubby Smith Named Big 12 Coach of the Year; Gotcher, Smith & Ross Receive Honorable Mention

Huge congratulations to Texas Tech head coach Tubby Smith, who was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year today.

Smith has guided the Red Raiders to a 19-11 record, the program’s highest win total dating back to the 2009-10 season. Texas Tech also picked up nine Big 12 victories and a .500 conference finish in the nation’s No. 1 RPI rated conference. The last time the Red Raiders accomplished those feats was in 2006-07. Tech also collected three consecutive Top 25 wins over then No. 14 Iowa State, No. 21 Baylor and No. 3 Oklahoma in mid-February for the first time in program history.

Additionally, Toddrick Gotcher, Zach Smith and Aaron Ross received Honorable Mention  All-Big 12.#

Back To Top